Local Flight

In which I do my first ‘hire & fly’ as a RA-Aus Certificate holder

************************

Today was my first ‘hire & fly’ as a certified RA-Aus pilot.

I arrived and was given the folder for 4946 (after somebody asked “Who are you flying with?” and I cheerfully replied “Nobody!” :P). I preflighted 4964 and backtracked down 36R. 36L was closed today so 36R was also being used for takeoffs as well as landings today. I took off from 36R and departed upwind for the training area.

I didn’t really do very much today, just flew around parts of the training area and enjoyed the view and the fact I was up there πŸ™‚ I didn’t do any stalls or anything, although I did do a couple of medium and steep turns – I’m still having some issues holding my height during the turns so I need to do some more work on those.

I did take a few pictures on my phone while I was up there though πŸ™‚

I headed back and joined crosswind for 36.. Just before I joined crosswind another aircraft called me on the radio (after hearing my inbound call) to check my location – I’m still not totally comfortable with radio calls that aren’t the norm, but I’m getting better at it.

I did a circuit and decided to do one T&G. The landing was actually pretty nice, not quite a greaser, but pretty smooth! I stalled it on neatly and, while it wasn’t one of those ‘could hardly feel it when the wheels touched’ landings (I aim to do one of those one day, but perhaps it is a challenge to do it on grass?) but it was definitely smooth.

I did another circuit and came in for a full stop. This landing was pretty good too, I was rather impressed with my landings today. As I was taxiing towards the end of the runway a call came over the radio asking me if I could go a little faster as they were on short final (altho I don’t remeber hearing a final call from them, only base) so I just replied “Yup, no worries” and sped up a little and made it off.

As it was the last flight of the day, I taxiied it straight back to the hangar. When I got there MG and R were standing there and helped me to attempt to put it away. I say ‘attempt’ because it is rather muddy there at the moment and we maneged to get the plane bogged in the mud. We gave up on the idea of putting it in the hangar, managed to get it out of the mud and just left it outside for the night. I actually put 4 pairs of Converse shoes in the washing machine when I got home tonight to wash off the mud from the airfield they’ve collected over the last few weeks, I’m starting to think I should wear gumboots to the airfield!

I’ve got a couple more solo hours booked over the weekend, I only need 1.6 more hours to have the 10 hours PIC I need for my passenger endorsement so hopefully I can do that over the weekend. If the weather is good (which it wasn’t last weekend, sigh) I’ve got my first lesson in a Warrior too which is rather exciting. πŸ™‚

5 Responses to Local Flight

  1. flyinggma says:

    Love the photos. It looks like you get to fly in a very beautiful place. Have fun with the Warrior. I’m grounded for the time being due to a medical issue. I can’t fly solo but can still go up with a CFI if I wish to fly. Can’t wait to be on my own again.

    • Darky says:

      Sorry to hear that you’re grounded, I hope you get better soon πŸ™‚

      Yes I do fly in a nice place, it’s the Yarra Valley in Victoria where there’s a lot of vineyards. It’s pretty much all fields or towns around the airfield, surrounded by mountains (if you hit a mountain, you’re about to leave the training area), it’s nice to look down on and it’s interesting to see how it looks very different in different weather conditions.

  2. flyinggma says:

    Is it difficult to fly near the mountains? Winds changing direction and velocity? I have often thought of flying several hours west of here (nearest mountains) for the view but worry that it would be more difficult and unpredictable.

    • Darky says:

      hmmm, I would say no, but there is also the fact that I’ve always flown here so may just be used to it. The winds can be a bit tricky when there is a crosswind from the west as it comes over the mountain then hits the runway, which can make it a bit variable.

      Probably best to chat to an instructor there and see what the local conditions are like, it might be different around those mountains. πŸ™‚

  3. flyinggma says:

    Thanks, Good advice! Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

