RA-Aus Board Election

I’m running for election to the RA-Aus Board as Victorian Representative.

Rather than putting my name on here (still trying for some anonymity), I’m just going to say that out of the two candidates, only one has a female name, and that’s me.

If elected to the RA-Aus Board I will bring a new perspective, the perspective of a younger member. RA-Aus is a constantly evolving organisation and it is up to the Board to lead that evolution and represent the changing needs and views of the members. Part of this evolution is recruiting and supporting younger members and it is important that the Board reflect this. However, it is equally important to not neglect the experience and wisdom of the older members. A mix of wisdom and youthful enthusiasm working together on the Board will benefit every member of RA-Aus.

I am in my final year of an Arts/Law degree and believe that the skills I have obtained from these degrees will aid me to effectively represent the members of RA-Aus.

The purpose of an elected representative is to represent the views of the members. A Board where the representatives act only for themselves causes nothing but harm to the organisation that they claim to represent. The Board should represent the views of the members and work together for the future of the organisation and, if elected, I intend to do so.

We all share a passion for aviation. I intend to support that passion by representing the wishes of the members as a Board member and by raising awareness of RA-Aus in the wider community, to encourage the growth and evolution of this organisation. We all fly for fun and I intend to work to keep that as the central focus of RA-Aus.

3 Responses to RA-Aus Board Election

  1. flyinggma says:

    Good luck in your campaign and finishing up your Art/Law degree. I think that it is really important to get young people involved in politics with a fresh perspective on things.

  2. bt95 says:

    You didn’t make it did you? I’ve looked in the RA-Aus magazine and both representatives from Vic have male names. One of which turns out to be my flight instructor…

Leave a Reply

